Day 1: This Opportunity

I’ll be the first to admit I haven’t always been the most grateful person in the world. Sure, I’m usually quick to say “Thank You” when the need arises but it’s become automatic and a lot of times I do not mean it as sincerely as I probably should. It’s something I’ve been trying to work on and I believe I am getting better at being thankful for the things around me. Which is part of the reason I wanted to start this blog, spend a year giving thanks to God for the things and people around me.

While I know God is ultimately the one who gave me the inspiration to begin this if I were trace back to something specific I would have to go back to 2010 when I was given a copy of Nancy Lee DeMoss’s book Choosing Gratitude. This book showed me how important gratitude is in the life of a Christian. At the end there is a 30-day devotional with daily journal entries, and at the end of each entry the reader is asked to include a list of five things you are grateful for. I must admit it was easier some days than others to come up with five different things and by the end I had quite a few repeats, something I refuse to do here.

I really enjoyed going through that devotional and I still occasionally make lists of the things I am grateful for, but that wasn’t the only thing prompted the idea for this blog. During 2012 a DJ on my local Christian radio station did “365 Days of New” where each day she did something she had never done before. I enjoyed reading her daily Facebook posts about what she had done that day. At first I thought about doing the same for a shorter amount of time, but it just didn’t seem practical for me.

On the same radio station on Tuesdays they have what they call “GratiTuesdays” where listeners call in to say what they’re thankful for. I’ve called in a few times when there’s been something major going on or I had something cool to share, and I enjoy listening to hear what people have to say. It was the combination of these things that God used inspire me to begin this blog.

I had been thinking about starting a blog for a while and had toyed with a few ideas but never actually started one. As 2012 drew to a close I felt like God was telling me this was the kind of blog he wanted me to do. I prayed about it a lot, and felt that this was what God was calling me to do, so here it goes.

I cannot tell you how excited I am to find 365 things I am grateful for. I know some days are going to be easier than others, but I have a feeling by the end of the year I will have found more than 365 things. I pray God uses this blog to inspire you to find what you are grateful for and I encourage you when you finish reading each post to Comment something You are grateful for, I’d love to read them!

Day 1: Thank You Lord for this opportunity to write about 365 things I am grateful for! Bless this blog and the things I post here. May they serve as an encouragement to everyone who reads them.

One thought on “Day 1: This Opportunity

  1. Dawn says:

    What a great reminder to start the year with – to be thankful.

Leave a Reply

