Day 6: Ray Lewis

I don’t think you can be a Baltimore Ravens fan and not be thankful for Ray Lewis. With the announcement earlier this week of his retirement at the end of the season you know the rest of the season is going to be special. It is impossible for me to think of the Ravens without him since he has been around as long as the team.

RayRay is arguably the best defensive player in history based on his stats alone, but add to that his longevity (17 seasons) and I think that makes him the best. His leadership has had a huge impact on the team’s performance, and I know it will be difficult to find someone to fill that role.

At the end of today’s game when he took off his jersey to reveal the shirt bearing the words “Psalms 91” all I could think was what a witness and a statement about him and our God! Verse 2: “I will say to the LORD, ‘My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.'” Along with verses 9-11: “Because you have made the LORD your dwelling place– the Most High, who is my refuge no evil shall be allowed to befall you, no plague come near your tent. For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways.”

While I am sad he is retiring, I cannot wait to see Ray Lewis play the final games of his career in the coming weeks and see the legacy he leaves behind in Baltimore. Thank you Ray for all you have done for Baltimore and the Ravens; You have truly left your mark on both, and we are grateful for you!

Day 6: Thank you Lord for Ray Lewis, and his influence! May people be touched by his witness today and every day.

What are you grateful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

