Day 20: American Sign Language

I first began learning American Sign Langauge (ASL) when I was in third grade. A woman from my church came into my Sunday School class and taught us the basics along with the signs for a song which we performed during a church service a few months later. I fell in love with the language and using my hands to communicate and have been using it ever since.

I took a few other classes, including one with a deaf teacher, unfortunately I have had very few opportunities to talk with the deaf something I have always regretted. I love being able to count to high numbers on my fingers on one hand, and I sometimes use fingerspelling to figure out how to spell a word I cannot remember off the top of my head.

The main way I currently use ASL is to sign songs. At my old church I would often stand up in front during worship and sign one of the worship songs. I cannot tell you how many people came up to me after these services to tell me how my signing helped them worship.

While I have not been able to do this at my current church, I do it for myself in my seat and I cannot tell you how much it helps me worship. Expressing myself through my hands to God is incredible. I feel closer to God when I sign a worship song, much more than singing and raising my hands. I wish I was fluent in ASL so I could sign every song, but I’m not, so I sign the songs I performed at my old church or ones that I know most of the signs for off the top of my head. My favorite word to sign is “hallelujah” and if that is in a song I will often sign that word by itself. That’s probably why my favorite song to sign is “Angus Dei” by Micheal W Smith, because it uses that word so many times.

Day 20: Thank you Lord for ASL not only as a way for the deaf to communicate, but as a way for me to feel closer to you in worship.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment I’d love to read it!

2 thoughts on “Day 20: American Sign Language

  1. I am thankful for literature!

  2. I also love American Sign Language. Ever since I saw the movie “The Miracle Worker” and “The River Wild” when I was a little girl I have always wanted to become fluent in it. I have taken a few classes as well but I still have much to learn. I love how you worship by signing, I know a lady that does that as well and I have wanted to but I don’t know enough. In my past ASL class we did have to learn a song and I try learning new ones now and hopefully I’ll post them on youtube with my other ASL videos. Hopefully we both can become fluent =) Thank you for posting this. It makes me want to go pull out all of my ASL books now =D Oh haha, and I’m am thankful that God has given us a way to still communicate with those who are deaf until they are healed from it. =) (sorry this comment is so long)

Leave a Reply

