Day 37: Books on Tape

When I was young my parents would often read aloud to us. I loved hearing books spoken out loud, it was so much easier to picture what was going on in the story. But as I got older they didn’t read as much anymore, which is when I got interested in books on tape, something I still listen to today.

Books on tape are so much fun to listen to! (Ok I know technically they’re now on cd or MP3 but I can’t get used to calling them anything else) Hearing an actor read a book, giving different voices to the characters, makes it come alive to me. With some books I feel my heart pounding along with the characters’ in the intense moments, which rarely happens when I’m just reading the book. I feel like I’m part of the story.

I can only read one actual book at a time, (I used to try to read two, but I kept getting them mixed up) and it can take a while to read if I’m busy. With a book on tape I can listen to it while I’m doing other things, and I can go through it so much faster to find out what happens!

I’ve discovered so many books through books on tape. Classics I’ve heard about but have never been able to read, books people are talking about but I’m not sure if I actually want to take the time to read, as well as favorite books that I want to read again but there are too many books on my shelf to read that I don’t have time. Once there was a book I wanted to read but the only copy in the entire library system was on cd.

Books take you to another world, but books on tape help you experience it to another extent. I’m not saying people should stop reading books and just listen to recordings of them, on the contrary books are a wonderful way to “hear” a good story. But if there’s a book you love, or don’t have time to actually read a book on tape is a wonderful way to experience it.

Day 37: Thank you Lord for books on tape, they’re such a wonderful way to experience books.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

