Day 39: Beverly Lewis

Beverly Lewis is another one of my favorite authors; she writes Amish fiction. I discovered her books years ago and have loved them ever since, in fact I have read all but one of her novels. I’ve always been interested in the Amish, growing up in Maryland, so close to Pennsylvania. I’ve traveled to Lancaster many times over the years, but I’ve learned so much about them since I started reading her novels.

The Postcard was the first of her novels I read, it was my my freshman year in high school, and as far as I can remember the first “adult” book I ever read. I was hooked by the time I finished, on Lewis’ books, Christian fiction, and Amish fiction. Reading it helped open me up to reading so many other great Christian novels.

For a long time Lewis was the only Amish fiction writer I read but in the past few years I have started to read others, and while I enjoy them I don’t think any of them are quite as good as hers. After all she pretty much created the genre with her first novel The Shunning. But the way she portrays the Amish seems different than other writers, to me it feels more genuine.

I had the privilage of meeting Beverly at a book signing in Lancaster last October. I can’t tell you how excited I was to meet her and have her sign my copies of her first series. It was so awesome to meet the author I’ve admired for so long, I know I will treasure the books she signed.

Day 39: Thank you Lord for Beverly Lewis and the novels she writes. Continue to bless her books, and use them to bless the people who read them.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

