Day 42: My Disability

I know this post is going to come as a surprise to many people. First of all, even if you know me personally you may not even be aware I have a disability. Secondly, you might be thinking “Why is she grateful for a disability?” Let me assure you there are days when I’m definitely NOT thankful for it, but God has used it for his glory and that I am thankful for!

Due to complications at my birth which caused temporary lack of oxygen to my brain I have mild spastic Cerebral Palsy, a disability which limits my physical abilities, (I can’t run long or fast, I have weak ankles, and tight muscles all over my body but especially my legs and back), as well as somewhat mentally, (I think and reason for the most part like a person a few years younger than my actual age) and my speech is often a bit slurred. For the most part most people don’t realize I have a disability unless I tell them, because it isn’t very obvious and often easy to hide.

It can be very frustrating at times, when I can’t do something physically. I’ll usually at least try and figure out a way to do what I need to, but I can’t always and I’ll let you know if I can’t, however, people don’t always understand. It’s taken a lot of work over the years, but I believe in certain respects I can do more now physically than I could when I was younger. (I don’t want to go into that too much now, I’m planning on writing posts about some specific things later)

People who know about my disability are often amazed at what I can do, and all I can do is give God the glory for what HE allows me to do! Of course I would love to be healed of my disability, but I know that probably won’t happen till heaven, and while I’m on earth I try to use it as a witness and example to the people around me. My favorite Bible verse is Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (ESV) This is my life verse and I pray people can see it lived out through my life and be encouraged to try things they never thought they could do!

Day 42: Thank you Lord for my disability. It’s something that’s not always easy to be thankful for, but I thank you that it gives me opportunities to shine for you!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

