Day 54: Dancing on Pointe

If you add up all the years I danced ballet it equals more than 10. I loved it so much, and probably would still do it if I had time. Most young ballet dancers dream of dancing on pointe and I was no exception. However, because of my Cerebral Palsy I didn’t think it would ever happen. I have weak ankles, tight muscles in my legs, and not the best balance in the world.

You can imagine my surprise when my teacher told me I could try pointe! I was one of the oldest people in my Christian dance school, and while I was in the most advanced class, not everyone danced on pointe. I was so excited, I didn’t know if I could do, but I wanted to give it a try.

I still remember that first class. I had borrowed pointe shoes from a friend’s who was no longer dancing just to try to see if I could do it before I went out and bought them. I was surprised at how well I was able to keep my balance. I still needed to work on strength, but I could do it!

For the next year and a half, I only used my pointe shoes in class; building up my strength and ability. Then my chance came, I was given a pointe part in the Christmas recital! I couldn’t believe it, and I was SO excited! I never imagined I would ever dance onstage on pointe.

I danced on pointe onstage in two seperate recitals, (four actual dances between the two) before my Christian ballet school closed, and I retired my pointe shoes. I continued taking ballet classes for a couple more years after that but not pointe classes.

Dancing on pointe gave me more confidence in my dance abilities, and I’m so thankful I had the opportunity to do it! It also helped me physically, my leg muscles are much stronger than they used to be, and so is my balance. I still occasionally lose my balance, but my body knows instinctivly where to put my feet so I don’t fall. (Of course my body isn’t aware of what’s on the ground around me and I once got a nasty gash in the bottom of my foot, but that’s beside the point)

Day 54: Thank you Lord for allowing me to dance on pointe, it was a dream I had for so long, and I’m so grateful I was able to do it. Thank you also for the physical benefits it has given me.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

