Day 78: Adventures in Odyssey character Jenny Roberts

Yesterday I wrote about my favorite kids’ radio program “Adventures in Odyssey”, today I want to write about one of my favorite characters from the show: Jenny Roberts. Jenny is blind, and at times struggles with her disability, but at others she is able do amazing things in spite of it. I can totally relate to her because I have had similar experiences with my own disabilty.

My favorite Odyssey episode is “The Perfect Witness”, where Jenny witnesses a robbery and is taken hostage by the thieves because she won’t be able to see where they take her. But by using her other senses she is able to help the police catch the crooks. I am always encouraged when I listen to this episode, it reminds me that even though I have limitations, I can do great things, and I shouldn’t let them hold me back!

I was once in a musical where we borrowed characters from Odyssey to tell the History of praise music, and I got to play Jenny! In the show Jenny has been struggling with the challenges her disability gives her; she meets the blind hymn writer Fanny Crosby who helps her see that we should look on our struggles with joy because they produce perseverance. I auditioned for the part because I wanted to play my favorite character, but I never imagined the impact it would have on me personally. At the time I was going through a similar struggle with my disability and I can’t tell you how encouraging those lines were to me! I still think about those lines occasionally when I’m feeling discouraged, and they still help me!

Day 78: Thank you Lord for the Odyssey character Jenny Roberts, and the encouragement she has been to me over the years!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

