Day 84: My trip to Holland

I was seven the first time I got an airplane. My grandparents who immigrated to the United States in the 1950’s were taking me to Holland for my Great-Grandmother’s 95th birthday. I remember how excited I was to go but nervous at the same time. I spent a week there visiting family and various places.

One of my favorite pictures of me of all time was taken on this trip when we went to a place where you could dress in a traditional Dutch Costume and have your picture taken in a Dutch setting. (Kinda like the Old-West pictures you see people have taken, but these are in color) Some of the things I remember the most were: going inside a windmill, sitting in a huge wooden shoe, visiting Madurodam a miniature city, (If you ever visit Holland I HIGHLY recommend going here!) meeting my Great-Grandmother, Dutch cousins and other relatives, riding one of my older cousin’s horse in the rain. (They say it always rains in Holland but that was the only day it did!)

I don’t remember too much about the food we ate, I’ve always been a little sad that we didn’t go to McDonald’s especially since I’ve gone there in every other country I’ve visited. The main thing I do remember is eating french fries with mayonnaise! (I don’t know for sure if this is true but I was told kids there aren’t allowed to have ketchup with their fries) I was hesitant to try this at first but once I did I was addicted! I still eat fries with mayo sometimes but it has to be the right fries and I have to be in the mood for them.

It was more than a decade before I went overseas again, but that trip stirred the travel bug in me. I love to travel! I’ve been to four different countries, at least driven through every state on the East Coast, plus a few more mainly close to the East Coast and I would love to visit more countries and states!

Day 84: Thank you Lord for my trip to Holland, for allowing me to meet family there especially my Great-Grandmother who died a few months after my visit. Thanks for giving me to desire to travel and see parts of the world you have made!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

