Day 93: Bookshelves

Tonight I went through a process I have to do about once a year: Clean off my bookshelves. I have three in my room one mostly for the books I’ve had for years and know I want to keep, the second for the books I want to read as well as books I’ve read fairly recently, and a third smaller one overflow books that don’t fit on the other two. I love looking at my bookshelves reading the titles, remembering the stories of the ones I’ve read like old friends, and wondering what’s contained between the covers of the ones I haven’t. When I’m bored I’ll often pull out a favorite and read one of my favorite passages

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I LOVE to read! I love actual books too. I haven’t tried a Kindle, and have no real desire to. I love the feel of having a book in my hands, turning the pages, smelling the smell of books especially old ones, it invites me to another world. I hate reading off of a screen for long periods of time, I get eye strain and I really don’t see how people can do it.

If I owned a copy of every book I’ve read I wouldn’t have room for anything else! I have enough trouble finding room for the ones I have right now, that’s when I know it’s time to clean off my bookshelves. It isn’t always easy deciding which books to keep and which ones to get rid of, I feel like I’m getting rid of old friends. I always end up getting rid of some of my older ones because I just don’t have the space. The next problem is finding someone to give the ones I want to get rid of. I refuse to throw any away, it isn’t always easy but I usually find somewhere eventually.

Day 93: Thank you Lord for bookshelves, so I can see and easily enjoy the books I own.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

