Day 106: One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

When I started this blog people kept asking me if I had read the book One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp, and I had to tell them I had never heard of it. I finished reading it today and now I understand why they asked me if I had read it. The book tells the true story of how on a dare Voskamp made a list of one thousand things she was thankful to God for, and let me tell you it was a real encouragement to me with this blog.

She doesn’t list all of the thousand things she’s thankful for in the book, but many of them and I was surprised at how specific she got with many of them. Small, little things that I wouldn’t think about being grateful for but after reading them I thought “Yeah, I’m thankful for that.” Now that I’ve read it I’ve made a few decisions, while I am going to write more general posts I want to try to find more small specific things that I’m thankful for. Voskamp didn’t stop at a thousand things, but she did stop numbering them after one thousand, and I don’t want to stop at 365. I probably won’t write every day like I have this year, but as things come up I’ll write a post about them.

Day 106: Thank you Lord for Ann Voskamp’s book and the encouragement it is to me with this blog. Help me to follow her example with what I write.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

