Day 108: History

I’m a history buff. I love learning about other times and places. I find it fascinating and I believe the statement “Those who don’t learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” (You just have to look at history to see that, just take the German invasion of Russia at the same time of year and same place as Napoleon and both attempts failed!) When I’m learning about a certain time period I like to imagine what it would be like to live then.

If I had to pick a favorite time in history it would be without a doubt the American Civil War. I’ve often dreamed of being a Civil War Reenactor, and I’ve visited many of the battlefields close to where I live, including Gettysburg. (I’ve been there more times than I can count!) Believe it or not for a long time my favorite movie was “Gettysburg” which I find ironic since there’s only one woman in the whole movie with a spoken line “I thought the war was in Virginia.” But I think that proves just how much I love history.

I wish more people were interested in history because it’s important for our future. I think it’s important that we study history so we don’t make the same mistakes as our ancestors. There are so many interesting stories to be found in our history, often more interesting than any fiction, but people don’t take the time to study it because they think it’s boring.

Here’s my challenge to anyone who thinks history is boring: Get a kids’ book, or even a biography, about something that happened at least 50 years ago. Read it and then tell me if you still think history is boring. Kids’ books usually try to make things more interesting and exciting, and most of the time it’ll give a more interesting account of the event.

Day 108: Thank you Lord for giving us history, so we can learn about what’s been done before us and learn from their mistakes.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

