Day 120: Homeschool Harmonizers

Last night I went to the first performance of the Homeschool Harmonizers’ spring production “Promise U.” Homeschool Harmonizers (or as everyone ever associated with the group calls it “Harmonizers”) is a group of Homeschooled students who meet Friday mornings to for drama, singing, and some dancing. During the fall they rehearse Christmas music and visit various nursing homes to perform in December, and during the spring they put on a musical.

Harmonizers was started in 1997 by Ms. Cindy as part of a larger Homeschool Co-op with 12 kids, one of which was me! It later broke off and became a separate group which at its largest had 70 kids. (After a while it became too large and had to downsize abit) I stayed in the group for the next eight years even after I graduated from high school, and I helped out with the spring musical the two years after that.

I love this group so much! I learned so much while I was in it about acting and being onstage, as well as developing some of my dancing skills in styles other than ballet. I’m rarely nervous when I have to speak in front of large groups of people and I know being part of this group is a big part of the reason why. I have fond memories of each of the shows I was a part of, and I was able to develop great relationships with the other kids in the group, many of which continue to this day.

Many Harmonizer alumni I know wish they were still in Harmonizers, which is probably why if they can many stay on a year or two after they graduate from high school. Jen is one alumni who has a master’s degree in organ, but still comes back every year to help out.

Last year because I was out of a job or working part-time for most of the school year I was able to come back to help out, and even be part of the show. I learned a lot in that year about reading music. I love to sing, but am not much of a soloist. I know how to read music, but not very well until last year. I was amazed at how much I learned about reading music and how much better I am at it now.

Harmonizers has done some pretty amazing shows from Christian kids’ musicals, to variety shows, to full-fledge musicals. (“Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”, twice!) I love coming back each year and seeing how amazingly talented these kids are! It’s so cool for me to see kids grow and develop as performers through the years. I’m always blessed by the show they put on, and I know the audiences are too.

Day 120: Thank you Lord for the Homeschool Harmonizers and the impact it’s had on my life, and the lives of so many others. Thank you that I was able to be part of this group for so many years.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

