Day 148: My First Name

I didn’t have anything in particular in mind to write about today, then I read the Daily Prompt and decided to write about that. I have very mixed feelings about my first name “Christin”, I don’t like it that much, especially spelled differently than I do. I’ve tried to get people to call me nicknames over the years and a few people do, but I’ve never been able to get them to catch on. I was impressed when I actually convinced one of my professors in college to call me “Chrissy” the nickname I prefer the most, but since I had other classes with most of my classmates it never caught on. (If you’re reading this and you know me, I give you permission to start calling me “Chrissy”. Let’s see if it catches on, please tell me first though)

People mispronounce my name a lot. I get called “Christine” quite a bit especially when I go to the doctor because my middle initial is “E.” I’ve come to the point that if someone needs to write down my name and spelling matters I go ahead and spell it out, because they almost always spell it wrong. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people who know how to spell my name spell it wrong. I’ve only met one person who spells my name the same way, though I have heard of other people, and I have decided if I ever have children not to give them unusual names or unusual spellings because it’s too much trouble.

Ok now that I’ve gotten all the things that annoy me about my name off my chest, I can get on to the good thing, which believe it or not there is. My parents’ chose this spelling of my name because it says “Christ in” and that’s what they wanted me to remember, that Christ is in me as a Christian. For me that is worth all the bother of having my name spelled the way it is, because it’s a wonderful reminder, and a witness to everyone around me.

Day 148: Thank you Lord for my name and the way it’s spelled, thank you for the wonderful reminder of who I am in you.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

One thought on “Day 148: My First Name

  1. an inspirational name and well worth the mis-spelling/mishearings – walking with the Lord just by being you

Leave a Reply

