Day 149: Memorizing the Books of the Bible

When I was in elementary school at my church they had us memorize the books of the Bible in order, and if we did they gave us a Bible of our own. I still remember them and I’m so glad I still can, because it makes looking up verses SO much easier! I can’t remember the last time I had to look in the table of contents in my Bible to find a particular book. I’m so familiar with the Bible that I can open it to around where I think the book I’m looking for is, and while I rarely hit the exact book, I can see where I am and because I have them memorized I know which way to flip and often about how far I need to flip. With the major books of the Bible, it’s easier to remember what books come next, but I must admit it can be hard when it comes to the minor prophets and I often have to stop and think about it for a minute. It’s a very useful skill to have and I recommend it for everyone who wants to study the Bible more.

Don’t believe I still remember all 66 books in order? Tell you what, I’m going to type them out right here from memory and I won’t check before I post, then I’ll check and see if I got it right and post a Comment. I promise I won’t go back later and change it either. Deal? Here we go:

Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Ester, Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zechariah, Haggai, Zephaniah, Malachi, Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts, Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude, Revelation.

Ok, I know that’s only 65, and believe me I really tried to remember it, but I know exactly where the last one goes, at the end of the Old Testament, around Zephaniah. I will admit I wrote them all out except 3 of the minor prophets which I couldn’t remember at all and had to think about; once I did remember them I played around with the order a bit. But still I think I did pretty well almost 2 decades after I memorized them! And like I said I’ve always had problems remembering the minor prophets.

Day 149: Thank you Lord that I was able to memorize the books of the Bible at such a young age, it’s certainly been useful over the years!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

2 thoughts on “Day 149: Memorizing the Books of the Bible

  1. Christin says:

    Jonah! That’s the one I forgot, I can’t believe it! It goes between Obadiah and Micah. I guess because I’m so familiar with the story I forget it’s an actual book, and think it’s in another one. Oh well! I did switch Zephaniah and Zechariah, but they sound so similar I think it’s understandable. Other than that it’s good!

  2. alexwagman says:

    Such a wonderful thing to give thanks for. I’m adding “memorize a bible verse every week” to my bucket list now. I’m also going to start following you!

Leave a Reply

