Day 161: Widow of Gettysburg book

A couple of weeks ago I read the novel Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green, which tells the fictional tale of Liberty Holloway who lived in Gettysburg Pennsylvania during the Civil War battle in 1863. I loved this book and could not put it down! (I highly recommend it!) I’m a huge history buff especially about the American Civil War and Gettysburg. I can tell you just about anything you’d want to know about the battle of Gettysburg but until I read Widow I never realized how little I knew about the civilian population before, during and after the battle.

Yesterday I went on a day trip up to Gettysburg, a place that I’ve visited more times than I can remember, but this time I saw it through new eyes. As I listened to accounts of the battle and toured the battlefield, I tried to think of it from the perspective of the citizens of Gettysburg, instead of the soldiers, which shed a whole new light on the battle for me. The Lutheran Seminary is an important feature in the book, and a place I haven’t driven past very often, but I did yesterday, and all I could think about was what occurred there in the book, taken out of the pages of history.

Day 161: Thank you Lord for the novel Widow of Gettysburg not only for an incredible book, but for giving me a new perspective on what has been a very familiar battle to me.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

One thought on “Day 161: Widow of Gettysburg book

  1. […] “Thank you Lord for the novel Widow of Gettysburg not only for an incredible book, but for giving me a new perspective on what has been a very familiar battle to me.”– 365 Days of Thanks […]

Leave a Reply

