Day 162: So You Think You Can Dance

There are quite a few tv shows I watch during the regular year, but once summer hits they’re all in re-runs, and frankly I’m glad to have a break from keeping up with all those shows on my DVR. (I’ve finally gotten it down to the last episode of the last show) There are a couple shows I watch during the summer but by far my favorite is “So You Think You Can Dance”! I got hooked on the show part way into Season 3 and haven’t missed an episode since. Every May I get really excited, checking to see when the new season premieres, and when it starts I’m glued to the tv each week watching it.

I love watching this show! It’s so much fun to see the different dance styles, and watch each of the contestants grow and develop as performers and dancers through the season. As a dancer I really appreciate everything that goes on with this show both onstage and in rehearsals. I’ve never had any training in other styles than ballet, and before I started watching this show I didn’t have much appreciation for them. (I had never even heard of “Contemporary”, now probably my favorite style on the show, before I watched it) I also never fully realized how a story could be told in a single dance, since in ballet it usually takes a whole show to tell a story. I wish I could be on the show, but I know with my disability I don’t have the abilities needed, but I’m ok with it, and love watching it!

Without a doubt my favorite dance of all time came week 1 of Season 4, “No Air” choreographed by NappyTabs and danced by Katee and Joshua. I had never really liked Hip-Hop before that night, it was too “grungy” for me. (I now know that’s “krump” which I’ve come to tolerate) The story told in that dance was so beautiful, and I get chills every time I watch it at the very end. I loved this dance so much that it loosely inspired a short story I wrote about a male and female dancer who fall in love, get engaged, but before they get married, he who is in National Guard gets called up for active duty.

Day 162: Thank you Lord for So You Think You Can Dance, for a wonderful show to watch in the summer, and opening my eyes to so many dance styles.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

