Day 165: Star Trek

If you were to ask me what are some of the tv shows I remember watching as a young kid, I’d give you a few shows. My parents mainly let me watch PBS until I was about 10, so “Mister Rogers”, “Sesame Street”, “Reading Rainbow”, you get the idea. With that in mind, the show I remember watching and enjoying the most might surprise you: “Star Trek: The Next Generation.” It’s a show that I feel like I grew up watching.

My dad was a fan of the original series, so when TNG came on he started watching it, got the rest of my family hooked on it, and we would watch it together every week. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t hooked on Star Trek, which considering my age when TNG premiered shouldn’t be too much of a surprise. TNG will always be my favorite series not only because it was the first series I watched, but because of the cast, I think they’re incredible. I was very sad when TNG went off the air, and I’ve never been a fan of Deep Space 9, (It’s too weird for me) as a result I didn’t watch much Star Trek until the summer before the final season of Voyager, which is a close second in my favorites of the five series.

I’m a big Sci-Fi fan, they make impossible things seem possible, take you to different places, and make you think. I think Star Trek does this especially well, they often address moral issues in unique ways. As impossible as the actual situation may seem I often can’t help wondering “what would I do in their place?”

Day 165: Thank you Lord for Star Trek, not only for a wonderful show that I grew up watching but how it makes me think about different issues in the world.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

