Day 168: Biblical Fiction

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I read A LOT, and when I saw yesterday’s Daily Prompt about the last book you read it was a no brainer for me. (Why they posted that on Father’s Day and not something about Fathers I don’t know, which is why I waited till today) The last book I read was Love in a Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews, and I highly recommend it! It’s a fictionalized version of the Biblical story of Hosea and Gomer, told in its Biblical setting, unlike Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers which tells the same story in California in the 1850’s. (Another book I highly recommend!) Both books are powerful and tell the same story, but for me there’s something about Broken that makes it even more powerful because it’s told in its actual setting.

Biblical Fiction seems to becoming more and more popular in the Christian publishing world, I keep seeing more and more books in that genre. In my opinion it’s about time; I seriously doubt the secular world to write anything in that genre, and for me it brings the world of the Bible alive! I’ve only recently started reading Biblical Fiction books, and each one gives me a whole different perspective on that story. When I’m done I know I will never read that story the same way, I understand it much better and on a deeper level than I ever have before, and I appreciate my Bible so much more.

In the Author’s Note of Broken, Andrews quotes Mark Twain:

“Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn’t.”

I completely agree with Andrews, the Bible seems so unbelievable because it is all true. Biblical fiction highlights some of these amazing stories, and because they’re so unbelievable they make great fiction. But they are based on the true word of God!

Day 168: Thank you Lord for Biblical Fiction and the new perspectives and appreciation it gives on your word!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

3 thoughts on “Day 168: Biblical Fiction

  1. What an awesome post, Christin! I’m thrilled you enjoyed Love in a Broken Vessel, and your observations about the increase in the biblical fiction genre are spot-on. Lots more Christian publishers are beginning to see the value in bringing the Truth of God’s Word to light through well-researched, inspiring fiction. I’m THANKFUL for informed and “big-picture” readers like YOU! Blessings on ya, gal! 😉

  2. Do you read GoodReads to keep track of what you’ve read/what you are reading? I just found out about it last week. It’s social media for book lovers

  3. I meant “use” GoodReads

Leave a Reply

