Day 186: Today at Work

I’m having a really hard time trying to figure out exactly what to call what I’m thankful for today, so I’m just going to explain what happened at work today. Because of some stuff that happened on Wednesday, and the fact that yesterday was a holiday, I knew when I got to work today there would be an enormous amount of work to do, and when I left work Wednesday I was already dreading today. When I arrived this morning I immediately saw I was correct and there was even a bit more work than I had thought there would be. Quite a few people were off work today which added even more pressure to the situation.

The first thing my boss said to me when I saw her was “you’re going to need to kick it into high gear today.” I immediately went to work, and I’m not exactly sure what happened but I just got in a zone, and worked quicker than I ever have at my job. The only thing I can think of is I knew we had to get this work done today and that put me in the right mindset, and I had posted something on Facebook and had casually mentioned to a few people that I wasn’t looking forward to today, and at least one person has told me they were praying for me today. (It also helped that I was listening to an excellent audio book, A Blaze of Glory by Jeff Shaara, while I was working) I have to keep track of my production each day and at the end of the day I was shocked to discover that for the two tasks I did today I processed more documents in each of those tasks than I ever have on a day when I mainly did one of them!

It wasn’t just me who did an amazing amount of work today. At 3:30 I looked at the amount of work processed and it looked like 5 o’clock on a busy fully staffed day, and we weren’t done yet! I don’t know what exactly was going on today, but I went from dreading the day in the morning, and fully expecting to work overtime, to being floored by all the work we got done by the end! I can only thank God for what he did today!

Day 186: Thank you Lord for all the work you helped us process at work today! I just want to give you all the glory for what you helped me do today!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

