Day 195: Villanelle Poems

(Today’s Daily Prompt is to do the opposite of what you normally do on your blog, and while poetry isn’t the exact opposite for me it’s what I want to do, especially since I’ve never done it before)

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was 13.
But from early on I’ve seen
That while I write good fiction,
as well as decent nonfiction,
Poetry isn’t my strength
No matter its length.

But every once in a while
I want to try another writing style,
And I write a poem
Because it’s nice to roam
And try something beside
Your normal writing tide.

When I do write poetry
There’s only one style for me.
It’s called a Villanelle
And I know it fairly well.
I like the way it repeats
Certain lines so it tastes like sweets.

Here’s a Villanelle I wrote
About my blog. So take note
If you’d like to try one yourself
It doesn’t just write itself.
But it’s a fun
Poetic style for everyone.

365 Days of Thanks
Writing my blog isn’t an easy job,
Discovering the things I’m thankful for,
It isn’t for a snob.

Some days are really hard; I have to rob
my brain and not be a bore
Writing my blog isn’t an easy job.

Other days it’s really easy; any thingamabob
that happens that day I’ll explore.
It isn’t for a snob.

Sometimes I feel like I’m writing for a mob
who could care less if I write anymore.
Writing my blog isn’t an easy job.

I try to write for those who are encouraged by what I lob
out there for everyone to read and adore.
It isn’t for a snob.

So whether I write about something beautiful or a doorknob,
I hope you’ll be encouraged and come back for more.
Writing my blog isn’t an easy job,
It isn’t for a snob.

Day 195: Thank you Lord for Villanelle poems, they’re such a wonderful style of poetry.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

