Day 197: Avalon

The first real concert I ever attended was Twila Paris. I remember how excited I was to see her perform live, and I thoroughly enjoyed the concert, but I remember very little of the opening act, I mainly remember wanting them to be done so Twila could sing. You have no idea how much I regret those feelings now, but I can hardly blame myself, I was young, it was my first concert, and Twila was my favorite artist at the time.

So who was the opening act, and why do I regret it now? It was Avalon, my all time favorite singing group! It was a year or two before I heard anything by them again, and took a bit longer before I really liked them, but by the time I did I was hooked! While the four members of Avalon have changed over the years, their sound hasn’t. Their songs portray powerful images and bring me closer to God every time I hear them. I love each one of their cds, and listen to them a lot.

Their song “Testify to Love” is my favorite song of all time and many of their other songs are some of my favorites. I’ve only missed one or two of their concerts when they’ve anywhere close to me over the years that I know of, and am usually on the edge of my seat through the whole thing. I’ve used some of their songs to bless others over the years too, I had the privilege of choreographing and dancing to their song “You Were There”, I sang “Orphans of God” while holding orphan babies overseas, and have performed American Sign Language onstage to “Testify to Love” (and in my seat during their concerts) on multiple occasions, which is always exhilarating. I’ve never had the privilege of meeting any of the members of Avalon though I do know someone who went to the same college as Jody, and someone else who used to be babysat by Jana, but if I did I would thank them for the wonderful work they’ve done over the years singing praises to God, and bringing me closer to him through their music.

Day 197: Thank you Lord for Avalon, for how they’ve blessed me through the years and the opportunities I’ve had to use their music to bless others.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

