Day 198: Musical Soundtracks

Yesterday I wrote about Avalon my favorite singing group of all time, and Christian music is definitely my favorite genre because it is so uplifting and glorifying to God. But I have a close second favorite genre: Broadway Musicals, which make up probably half the music on my iPod. Musicals are so much fun to listen to and watch, because they tell a story through their music and take you to another place, I especially like ones that tell an uplifting and inspirational story. I’d like to share with you my top 5 favorite shows along with my favorite songs from each.

#5: Newsies Of my top five this is the only one I haven’t seen live onstage, but it is the most recently produced one so it makes sense. I saw the Disney movie years ago and immediately fell in love with the story of kids taking a stand for what they believe in, and not backing down. It’s a fun show and the music is amazing, I’ve had the soundtrack for almost a year and I love listening to it! The funny thing is my favorite song from the movie and the show are different, in the movie it’s “Seize the Day” and the show it’s “The World Will Know” but in both cases the other song is my second favorite. Here’s the movie version “World”:

#4: Les Miserables Of my top five this is the only one I’ve actually seen on Broadway. I was introduced to this show through PBS’ broadcast of the 10th Anniversary show, and from the first I was hooked. The story is so beautiful and inspirational. There are a lot of songs that I love from this show, but my favorite is “On My Own” and even though I have seen many different performances of it over the years, this one from the 10th Anniversary is still my favorite!

#3: Godspell This is a fun show and I would love to be in a production of it someday, but I also love it because it tells the story of Jesus’ ministry so well. I remember once I had to answer a question about some of the things Jesus calls the Pharisee’s and I just remembered the lyrics to “Alas for You” and got the question right, because that song is taken straight from scripture. It’s really hard for me to pick a favorite song for this one because I love them all, even the three cut from the movie, (Except “Beautiful City” which I don’t really count because it was written for the movie) but if I had to pick one it would be “We Beseech Thee”

#2: Wicked My top two favorite musicals are almost interchangeable, but there can only be one favorite. I’ve always loved “The Wizard of Oz” and from the moment I saw “Defying Gravity” performed at the Tony’s I was hooked, the song itself quickly became my second favorite song, and fell in love with the rest of the show as soon as I heard the soundtrack. I got to see it on the National Tour and was surprised by the twists at the end that aren’t even hinted at in the soundtrack.

Before I move on I have to mention my other favorite song from Wicked which would not surprise me if it someday surpasses “Gravity” on my list, “For Good”. This song is so beautiful and so applicable to people in my life.

#1: The Sound of Music This was the first musical I ever saw, and I remember falling in love with it as a young child. I’ve seen the movie so many times that I can probably quote the whole thing. I remember watching it growing up and pretending to be whichever of the girls I was closest to in age, while I was watching it. (Which might be why Louisa remains my favorite of the kids because I stopped when I was about 13) Of my top five this is the only one where I might actually like for the story slightly more than the music. Growing up my favorite song was “So Long, Farewell” which it might still be, but to be honest I’m not sure anymore. So rather than post a video of a song from the movie I’m going to post something I know I love, the flashmob of “Do-Re-Mi”

Day 198: Thank you Lord for Musical Soundtracks, they’re so much fun to listen to and to remember great shows.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

One thought on “Day 198: Musical Soundtracks

  1. Never seen Newsies or Les Mis. I’ve been in Godspell. Wicked is my fave! Hands down..and I have seen Sound of Music in Phoenix. The end.

Leave a Reply

