Day 206: Savannah

(For today’s Daily Prompt) My closest friend is… someone I’ve never met in person. I know that might sound weird but it’s absolutely true! Some people meet their husband or wife online, I met my best friend! Her name is Savannah and she lives on the opposite side of the country from me. We met on Facebook because her family adopted a girl I met overseas.

I still remember accepting her friend request, she Facebook chatted me right away. She wanted to hear all about her little sister and we really hit it off. We talked several times over the next few days, then I’m not sure why but I gave her my phone number. That was almost three years ago, and now we talk most days often for hours on Facebook chat or the phone.

She’s one of the most open and honest people I’ve ever known, I feel like I can tell her anything and I think she feels the same way. She’s provided amazing insight into my life and I’ve been able to speak into hers as well. She challenges me in my faith and makes me think, while we don’t always agree on everything I know I’m a better person and have a stronger faith as a result. We’re both writers, and send each other pieces of whatever we’re working on for the other to read and comment on.

Of course I have other friends who live closer and I see all the time, but I don’t think I’ve ever been as close to anyone like Savannah. I know we may never meet this side of heaven, and while that makes me sad, I wouldn’t change our friendship for anything! I’m so glad the Lord put her in my life, and I know I’m a better person because of her.

Day 206: Thank you Lord for placing Savannah in my life, thank you for the way she speaks into my life and has made me a better person.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

3 thoughts on “Day 206: Savannah

  1. Beautiful post! True friends are a blessing no matter how far away they are!
    With respect, hope, joy and love, Carmela

  2. When I do come to see you, do I need to get a hotel room, Christin, or can I stay with you?? ;D

  3. Seriously..everytime I read this I want to cry!

Leave a Reply

