Day 207: Ghostwriter

Yesterday I finished watching Season 1 on DVD of one of my favorite TV shows of all time: Ghostwriter! If you weren’t a kid in the early 1990’s who watched PBS you may have never heard of this show, but in my opinion it’s the best kids’ tv show of all time! Ghostwriter was about a group of kids in Brooklyn, NY who work together to solve mysteries with the help of a “ghost” only they can see who can’t hear, see, or talk, and communicates only through writing who they call Ghostwriter.

I can’t tell you how much I loved this show when it was on the air! I would try to solve the cases right along with the team and pretend I was one of them. I wrote “Rally” everywhere, and even though I knew Ghostwriter wasn’t real I pretended he was. Our computer at the time didn’t even have a word processor and I gained most of my computer knowledge from the show. (It wasn’t till much later that I figured out they used Macs instead of PCs, I was pretty confused when we got our first PC)

I’ve always loved mystery/crime shows and books, I know this show was a big part of that. But I also know it had a big impact on my wanting to be a writer. They did so much writing on the show that it inspired me to be just like them. I loved it so much I wanted to write some “fan fiction” about Ghostwriter discovering who he really is. (I never did do that though) I did loosely base a character in a short story I wrote on Rob from the show, at least him in one specific episode.

(On a side note some famous faces were on the show, some were famous even then but others became famous later. Samuel L Jackson, Spike Lee, Julia Stiles, Dule Hill. Unfortunately none of the main kid actors really did anything else after it went off the air)

Day 207: Thank you Lord for Ghostwriter and the impact it had on me becoming a writer.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

