Day 245: Labor Day

Happy Labor Day! Labor Day is one of the holidays that I’ve never completely understood the meaning of or purpose behind. I did read an article today that said it was created to celebrate America’s workforce, which I guess is a good thing, especially since it was first created in the late 1800’s when working conditions and laws weren’t as good or safe as they are today. I’m sure people back then appreciated a day off much more than they do today.

Not that people today don’t appreciate Labor Day, I know I do. It’s nice to have a day off at the end of the Summer to relax and go to the pool while it’s still open. But I always thought it was kinda weird that schools start the week before Labor Day then have Monday off. As a Homeschooler growing up we almost always started school the day after Labor Day.

Day 245: Thank you Lord for Labor Day, it’s so nice to have one last day off before Summer’s over.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

