Day 249: Crochet

I learned how to crochet back in high school and have done it off and on through the years. When I first learned I only learned the single stitch, they tried to teach us the double but I along with most of the class just didn’t get it. I’ve made many scarves over the years, and even a full blanket for my full-sized bed. It took me four months using the largest hook we had single stitch but I finished it, and I still use it every winter! (I will admit the top is a bit wider than the bottom, but by the end I just wanted to get it done!)

A few years ago my mom wanted to make scarves for Christmas gifts and asked me to help, that’s when I finally learned and perfected the double stitch. The scarves turned out great and everyone loved them! A couple years ago I discovered a wonderful zig-zag double stitch pattern that I immediately fell in love with and got the idea to use it to make a baby blanket for a friend. It took me two months, but I really enjoyed it and prayed for my friend and the baby the whole time I was working on it. I liked the blanket so much that a few months later when I heard another friend was pregnant I made her one too. I’m now on my fifth blanket and I can’t tell you how much I enjoy making them. It’s developed into a ministry for me, as I pray for the baby and the family while I work. I usually work while I’m watching tv and it’s become such a regular thing that I feel weird watching tv without a crochet project in my hands! (I got a lot of work done watching the Olympics last Summer!)

Day 249: Thank you Lord for crochet and how I’ve been able to use it to make things to bless people in my life!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

One thought on “Day 249: Crochet

  1. Aedalia says:

    I really like the idea of this blog, and great job for keeping up with it!

    Crocheting is so relaxing! I’m still fairly new at it, but it really is fun once you figure out how to do it, and you can make so many things! I’m actually in the process of crocheting a little elephant rug for my nephew (once he finally arrives!), it’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

