Day 257: American Girl (dolls)

When I saw Friday’s Daily Prompt about your favorite childhood toy I knew exactly what I would write about, but I had other stuff to be thankful for the past two days so I decided to wait.

My favorite toy(s) growing up were my American Girl Dolls; I had three: Samantha, Addie and the American Girl of Today, (Now called “your twin doll” I believe) who I named “Rebecca.” I was around 7 when My mom first discovered American Girl when our local library had one of their books in their for sale books, after reading the book we used the card in the back to send away for the catalog. Little did we know what we were in for! (We had no idea about the dolls at the time, and my mom thought it would good practice for me in writing my name and address, and maybe get more historical fiction books for me) The catalog came and I instantly fell in love with the dolls, and I received Samantha the following Christmas, Addie followed a few years later, then Rebecca. (I know I saved up and bought either Addie or Rebecca, but I can’t remember which one, I think it was Addie)

I loved playing with these dolls, and once some of my friends got them too we would get together and play with them. But it wasn’t just the American Girl dolls I loved, I read all the books, played with the paper dolls, performed a couple of the plays, and got the magazine in the mail. In middle school our homeschool co-op had an “American Girls” class where we studied each of the American Girls’ time periods and did activities based on them. I know American Girl is a big part of the reason I love history so much today, helped me fall in love with reading, and gave me a creativity outlet while playing with my dolls.

Day 257: Thank you Lord for American Girl, and how they helped me become more creative, and enjoy history so much!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

