Day 269: When Other People Say “Thank You”

I was thinking today about the phrase “thank you” and how I feel when someone says it to me. Many times I don’t think twice about it like when I say “bless you” after someone sneezes, and they say “thank you”, it just comes out automatically. Most of the time when someone says “thank you” I respond with “you’re welcome”, “no, thank you” or even “mmhm,” a lot of times that too is an automatic response that I don’t really think about.

Of course there are a lot of occasions when how you respond when someone says “thank you” isn’t a big deal, but what about the times when it is a big deal? When you’ve done something big, special, or important for someone else and they respond by saying “thank you.” When that happens I try to be really nice and genuine with my response especially when their “thank you” has touched me. It feels good to be genuinely appreciated and makes me want to do more; albeit sometimes for selfish reasons but when someone is glad you helped them it should spur you to do more and better things to help people.

Day 269: Thank you Lord for the times when other people say “thank you” it’s so wonderful to feel appreciated.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

