Day 280: Dancing with the Stars

Over the summer I wrote a post about my favorite reality dance show “So You Think You Can Dance” and I thought it was about time to write one about the other dance show I enjoy watching “Dancing with the Stars.” I don’t watch DWTS as much as SYTYCD, it depends on who the celebrities are each season, but I do really enjoy watching it.

For a long time I didn’t enjoy ballroom dancing very much, it was a bit too suggestive and provocative for me, but as I’ve watched more and more I’ve learned that while it can be, not all dance styles are and even the ones that are don’t always have to be. Waltz is my favorite style, both regular and Vienesse, it’s so elegant and graceful; but I also love the Paso Doble, it’s so powerful and stylistic and fun to watch. I’d love to learn how to do Paso, but I have no idea where I could learn it.

On DWTS I really enjoy seeing non-dancers become such amazing dancers, and if it’s someone who I really like outside of the show, I can’t help cheering for them! It’s interesting to watch the pros work with their star, some of them don’t have an easy job, but they’re always positive, work hard, and do their best with who they have. Derek Hough is definitely my favorite pro, it’s funny though, he had to grow on me because at first I didn’t like his style but the more routines I saw from him the more I realized what a genius he is! I’ve just loved each one of his routines the past two seasons and the current one, I always can’t wait to see what he’s going to do next!

Like I did with my post on SYTYCD, I thought I’d include videos my all time favorite DWTS routines. Both come from the All-Star season, and ironically the same week! My favorite duet is the Rumba by Shawn Johnson and Derek Hough, this is probably the only Rumba I’ve EVER loved, because in general they’re too provocative and suggestive for me. However this one is just romantic, and I get chills every time I watch it!

My favorite group routine also features Shawn and Derek, with three other couples to “Call Me Maybe,” it’s just so much fun! (I should mention that while the songs have little to do with why I love these routines so much, both are songs I really like!)

Day 280: Thank you Lord for Dancing with the Stars and how it’s helped me appreciate ballroom dancing, and being able to see celebrities I like dance!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

