Day 291: Shepherd’s Field

Three years ago I had the opportunity to travel to China for two weeks with IC Orphans and visit Shepherd’s Field Children’s Village, (SFCV) a foster care facility take takes in orphans with special needs. I can’t tell you what an amazing experience it was! These kids are so special, and I loved spending time with them.

Before I went I rarely felt comfortable around people with disabilities, something I never understood since I have a disability, I would often feel like I needed to leave the room. But I felt called to go on this trip and I was excited about going. Before we went there we saw pictures of some of the kids there and there were two kids in particular who I was concerned about in this area; I didn’t feel comfortable looking at pictures of them. But once I met them all that changed and I developed a special relationship with those two in particular. Since my trip I’ve been able to interact with lots of people with special needs and have never had that feeling again, though I am more comfortable with special needs kids than adults.

My two weeks at Shepard’s Field were so incredible that I knew I had to go back and three months later to the day we left I was on a plane heading back there for a month. But that’s another story for another post.

Day 290: Thank you Father for the two weeks I was able to spend at Shepard’s Field and the way it changed my life. Bless the work they do there so it may continue for years to come!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

