Day 295: Words

I’ve heard the song “Words” by Hawk Nelson quite a bit recently, and it’s made me think about how important words are. Whether it’s in writing or speaking, words are how we communicate with people, and make ourselves known. We’ve all heard the expression “a picture is worth a thousand words” and while that’s often true, pictures can be open for interpretation, and therefore can be misunderstood.

But we also need to be careful with our words, they can help or hurt someone. I know that’s true for me, there’ve been times when I’ve felt discouraged or even worse because of the words someone’s said to me, and other times I’ve been truly encouraged by what their words. I want to be careful in what I say and write, I want to always glorify God and be encouraging to others.

Day 295: Thank you Lord for words, so we can effectively communicate with others, and glorify you.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

“Words” by Hawk Nelson
They’ve made me feel like a prisoner
They’ve made me feel set free
They’ve made me feel like a criminal
Made me feel like a king

They’ve lifted my heart
To places I’d never been
And they’ve dragged me down
Back to where I began

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
(Speak over the fear)
God, Your voice is the only thing
We need to hear
(We need to hear)

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I wanna speak Your love
Not just another noise
Oh, I wanna be Your light
I wanna be Your voice

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Leave a Reply

