Day 318: My Promise Ring

There’s only one present from my 16th birthday that I still remember getting specifically: My Promise Ring. It was a gift from my parents and a symbol of the promise I made to my parents and God to keep myself pure until marriage. I’ve always taken that promise VERY seriously, and the ring has rarely left my left ring finger since. It’s served as a reminder and symbol of the promise that I’ve kept all these years. Yesterday after more than a decade of wear my ring broke and I can’t tell you how sad it made me. I plan on getting it repaired because it feels so weird not wearing it.

I know promise rings have gotten a bad rep in the media recently because of celebrities breaking their promise and/or no longer wearing them, and I think that’s really sad. I think they’re important for Christian teens and young adults to have if they’re serious about saving themselves for marriage, and I pray all the recent negative media won’t turn them away from having one.

Day 318: Thank you Lord for my promise ring and what it stands for to me for so many years.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

