#373: Memorizing Bible Verses

Growing up my parents had us memorize different verses of the Bible, and a few passages, many of which I still remember today. These verses have helped me a lot over the years in different situations, and strengthened my faith. I will be forever grateful that I memorized those verses so many years ago. That was then, but I am sad to say I can’t remember the last time I memorized a Bible verse. I know it’s important to memorize scripture, after all Psalm 119:11 says “I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

A friend of mine recently memorized the entire book Colossians and recited it at our church a few weeks ago. I wasn’t there that Sunday, but this afternoon I watched the video of it. I can’t tell you how amazed, challenged and convicted I was by it; I also felt God telling me to do the same thing with the book of Philippians. (my favorite book of the Bible) I know it’s going to be a challenge (it took her 2 years) but I’m excited to see what God will teach me through this experience.

#373: Thank you Lord that we can memorize verses of scripture so we know them when we need them, and can learn from your word.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

