#383: God in Times of Suffering

The sermon at my church this morning was on loving others who are experiencing long-term suffering. It was very powerful, especially because it included testimonies from people in the congregation who are experiencing suffering who gave us tips on how to interact with them in regards to their suffering. I was in tears by the end of the service, because I could relate both to their situations and in how I interact with people who are suffering.

The more I thought about it, I realized how appropriate it was that I should hear this sermon on the first anniversary of Mr Tom’s death. That day and the week that followed was one of the hardest times of my life, but God was there helping me. When I experience suffering it can be easy to forget that God is there with me in the situation and he has a purpose behind it. But he is there, helping me and I don’t know what I would do or where I would be without him.

A few years ago I was in a show about Joseph from the Bible with Mr Tom, and I’d like to close with one of his lines from that show: “Joseph had grown wise in all the various situations that God’s plan had taken him through. And he realized that not one thing had ever happened outside of God’s sovereign hand. In your own situations, good or bad, they’re all part of the Master’s plan.”

#383: Thank you Lord that you’re always with us when we experience suffering and that you have a plan and a reason for it.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

