#391: My Trip this Summer

For my regular readers I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while, but I’ve had a very good excuse: I’ve been out of the country! I’m back now, and let me tell you it was an amazing trip! I traveled with a group of friends to an orphanage for children with special needs. We spent time with the kids, and ran a VBS.

I had so much fun with these kids! There was one boy who can’t walk at all but is just small enough that I could carry him around. Every time he saw me he would say “Up” and I would pick him up and carry him around. He has limited use of his hands too, but has found ways to use what they can do to do what he needs. He’s inspired me even more to try not to let my own disability stand in my way and try as much as I can.

I had some really great conversations with one of the older boys. He’s too old to be adopted, but he really cares about the people around him and tries to make them feel special. Most of our conversations were hilarious, but underneath all of them I could see his heart, and tell he’s really being used there in wonderful ways.

I don’t know how much of an impact the VBS had on the kids, (I hope it had a big impact, but I don’t know) but it certainly had an impact on me. I got to play one of the women at the cross and the empty tomb, and let me tell you its impacted the way I see those events. During the skits I felt like I was there and felt real emotions. I know I will never see those events the same way again.

#391: Thank you Father for what happened on my trip. May it have a lasting impact on my life, the lives of the team, and the kids we went to see.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

