#392: “The Story” Contest

As you probably have guessed if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, I LOVE to write! Fiction, non-Fiction, Journalism, Poetry, etc. I love writing it all. But my favorite thing to write, what I’m most passionate about is fiction. My dream job is to be a Christian novelist. In recent years between this blog and a few other opportunities I’ve gotten a lot of my non-fiction and Journalism articles out there, but not my fiction.

Back in March I heard about a Christian fiction short story contest called “The Story.” I was SO excited to be able to get some of my fiction out there and possibly win a prize or two. Now you have to understand I haven’t written a short story in years, I write novels and novellas. When I was younger I couldn’t write long stories because I just didn’t have enough ideas to drag out into a long story. Now I have the opposite problem, I have so many ideas I can’t keep them short and don’t know what to cut out, and the word count maximum was 1000 for this contest. But I decided to take on the challenge.

I had a great idea for a novella which I knew I could cut down to a short story length, but it proved to be harder than I imagined it would be. I tried different things but nothing worked at first then I took a step back and thought about what was really important to the story, changed the focus slightly and had my first short story for the contest. This process helped a lot when I wrote my second one, where I took a couple of scenes from the novel I’m currently working on changed a few small details, and had my short story.

Well the contest winners were announced July 1st and… I didn’t win, I didn’t even come in the top 50. But that’s ok. I got some of my fiction out there, grew as a writer, and had a blast! I hope they do another contest next year because I’ve got a couple of great ideas for more stories, but even if they don’t I’m grateful I had the experience!

#392: Thank you Lord for “The Story” Contest. It was such a great experience for me as a writer, and so much fun!

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

