#428: Being on the Prayer Team

I’m one of those Christians who’s never been very comfortable with praying out loud. But I know full well how important prayer is in the life of a Christian and the world in general. However, in the past few years my prayer life has really suffered. I still prayed regularly, but it felt like more of a duty, I would go through my list of things I needed to pray for as quickly as possible, so I could move on to the next thing. I would groan inwardly every time there was a group prayer because I knew it would take a long time and I usually wanted to get it over with as quickly as possible. That’s changed though over the past few months.

Last summer I was asked to be on the prayer team for a class being offered this winter/spring at my church. I was a bit surprised and not sure if I wanted to do it, but I prayed about it and agreed. I can’t tell you how grateful I am that I said yes! My prayer life has completely changed as a result, I want to pray now more than ever, and I don’t feel like it’s something I have to do. I’ve been able to see and hear about the results of my prayers for the class. I don’t dread group prayer times, but see them as amazing opportunities. In March I missed something I Really wanted to see because of a group prayer time, knowing I would probably miss it if I stayed I didn’t care because I knew how important it was and I later heard about the results of that prayer time. (Now if I can just get comfortable with praying out loud)

#428: Thank you Lord for putting me on the prayer team and all that it’s done in my prayer life! You knew I what I needed to change and gave me the opportunity to. Thank you also for all that my prayers have done in the lives of the students in the class.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

