Day 170: Reading Rainbow

The other day I watched a video of an interview with actor LaVar Burton talking about his time on Reading Rainbow and Star Trek: The Next Generation. I can’t tell you how many memories it brought back for me, because these are two shows that truly shaped my early childhood. Star Trek gave me my love of Science Fiction and Reading Rainbow gave me my love of reading and books. I can honestly say I’m really not sure if I watched Star Trek because the guy from Reading Rainbow was on it, or I watched Reading Rainbow because Geordi was on it. (It was probably a bit of both)

Since I wrote a post a couple of days ago about Star Trek I’m not going to say anymore about that, but I do want to talk about Reading Rainbow. Reading Rainbow brought books to life for me! I loved watching the stories being narrated and the pictures in the books seeming to come to life. Whenever I went to the library I would try to find the books on the show so I could read them for myself, and I found most of my favorite picture books as a kid because of it. I know I would not be as much of a reader as I am today if I had not gotten hooked on books at such an early age, and I feel pretty sure I wouldn’t have gotten hooked on books if it weren’t for Reading Rainbow.

I appreciated how the rest of each show centered around whatever the main book was about. It made the book so much more interesting, and I always learned so much!

Day 170: Thank you Lord for Reading Rainbow, for cultivating my love of reading and books.

What are you thankful for today? Leave a Comment and let me know, I’d love to read it!